Follow

I am a nurse but not familiar with gerontology. Glad for the accidental diagnosis of normal pressure Hydrocephalus! My dad is 90. Last year he had an MRI for BACK PAIN.They happened to capture his brain, and he was diagnosed with normal pressure hydrocephalus (fluid on the brain). Since the shunt was placed last July, his brain is back, he is no longer incontinent and is getting his strength back.
I just discovered my aunt has the same, but they elected not to have surgery. She is now in a wheelchair and has full dementia.
Dad's surgery was a simple overnight stay, no need for narcotics for pain and simple home recovery.
Worth looking into if one's loved one is having loss of mental status, strength and other symptoms. MRI is not an invasive procedure.

Find Care & Housing
Lisa, thanks for that, good information!!
(0)

Absolutely! It was a miracle (wonderful radiologist) that the NPH was detected and thank goodness he’s recovered! This condition is difficult to diagnose and isn’t that well known amongst doctors.
If this condition is left untreated (treatment is the shunts/drains mentioned by OP) long enough, the symptoms will become permanent.
My MIL has the shunts but will never make a recovery. Her dementia symptoms are most evident for the first half of the day and she is mostly incontinent.
(1)

I believe I remember your first post to us. Thank you so much for letting us know this.
(0)

Good info, thanks!
(0)

Thank you for this! Spouse cannot have an MRI (pacemaker and metal mitral valve), but has Parkinsons-eque symptoms that they can't find a cause for except possibly a 20+-yo stroke. This give us one more avenue to explore for a cause and (hopefully) treatment,
(0)

Hi, lissa34;