Follow

My mom always put my dad on a pedestal, when dad passed, she put my youngest brother on a pedestal.
My brother is, POA, executor, and has his name on the deed of mom's house. He is a high ranking officer and always busy, but is in charge of everything. Mom thinks I'm supposed to worship him the way she does, and do everything for her because, that's what women do. Which leaves my brother in complete charge and acting like an officer acts.
Mom was doing well with what I have been doing for her the last 4 years, but the beginning of this year has had one set back after another. My brother refuses to step back, refuses AL, or home care, or paying me.
My brother has pre cancers cells on his esophagus that needs scraping every month, I know this is extremely serious. My brother was at ground zero after 911, for 6 months. He has seen more horrors in his career than we can even imagine. Lost and loses friends and other services members, honestly, sometimes weekly, between wars, cancer, and suicides its bad.
So because of this I was doing everything, even making his bed at moms. He is at moms and average of 2 weekends a month. I and my older brother do everything the other 26 or so days a month.
I'm in a good place now so no worries, limiting my time as much as I can at moms, enjoying and living my life. But I do like all us caregivers get frustrated and upset at times.
To finish my story and add another twist, when I left my ex, he became best friends with my brother. I don't mean the typical best friend stuff, when they are not working they are together, at breweries, they bought a boat together, so every weekend he is at mom's, he is usually boating and playing. Or going on many weekend trips together. I'm pretty positive my ex is also my brother executor of his will. That is a rumor, my son told me. Also moms that worship there son, they also worship whomever is in their life, meaning my ex, is on moms pedestal too.